Recent Stories
“I’ve always loved math, but I don’t think it always loved me back,” said MAA Member Dr. Ranthony AC Edmonds as she shared her mathematical journey for our Member Spotlight. Although she always enjoyed mathematics, she found it challenging to become a part of the mathema...

30 March 2023

Press Releases
Washington, DC - The US team earned first place at the Romanian Master of Mathematics (RMM), organized in person for the first time since 2020, from February 27 - March 4, 2023. The RMM is a challenging international high school mathematics competition that allows studen...

15 March 2023

Recent Stories
Let no failure stop you from dreaming. Guard your mind and brain power. It is yours and yours only. ~Miranda Teboh-Ewungkem

3 March 2023

Recent Stories
WASHINGTON, DC - Announcing the results of the 2022 William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition, the most prestigious mathematics competition for undergraduates.

13 February 2023

The Mathematical Association of America (MAA) is happy to welcome the following members to its Board of Directors:President, Hortensia SotoPast President, Jennifer QuinnOfficer-At-Large, Russell GoodmanMAA expresses its sincere gratitude to the following outgoing member ...

1 February 2023

Recent Stories
… as hokey as this sounds: mathematics is probably the closest we could ever get to really talking to God. That’s why I decided to study it. ~Geillan Aly

25 January 2023

Press Releases
WASHINGTON, DC - The MAA American Mathematics Competitions (MAA AMC) is pleased to announce the 2022 winners of the Edyth May Sliffe Awards for Distinguished Mathematics Teaching in Middle and High School. This national education prize is awarded annually to middle and h...

10 January 2023

Recent Stories
…My fellow math faculty at the community college where I teach are inspirational. They love what they do - even when things get frustrating - because they care deeply about our students. We aren’t afraid to change - whether it’s rethinking how we approach developmental m...

31 August 2022

Press Releases
WASHINGTON, DC (July 28, 2022) – We are pleased to announce the 2022 award recipients for the Carl B. Allendoerfer Award, Trevor Evans Awards, the Paul R. Halmos-Lester R. Ford Award, the George Pólya Award, the Daniel Solow Author’s Award, The Chauvenet Prize, and the E...

28 July 2022

Press Releases
WASHINGTON, DC (July 28, 2022) – We are pleased to announce the 2022 Annie and John Selden Prize Award winner Estrella Johnson.

28 July 2022